An Imposter

I’m in grad school for Library Science and I’m taking what I think is my last class this summer. I feel like the dumbest person in class. A few of these people are working on dissertations. Most of them have undergraduate degrees in fields much more rigorous than mine. They just know more stuff than I do and it makes me feel like an imposter. 

The class is History of Libraries. We started with the ancient world. This is a period I have no interest in. Then it was the dark ages and medieval period. I’m sorry but I just don’t care that much. Don’t get me wrong, I’m learning things. I’m just not interested enough to add any insightful comments to the class discussion. 

Speaking of feeling like an imposter, I also feel that way when it comes to art and certainly to jewelry making. It has been several months since I’ve done any jewelry related activities. I’m going to have to re-visit the wire work techniques that I was learning way back whenever. 

I doodle while in class, sometimes with pencil and paper, sometimes wth an art app. Here’s something I made while the instructor talked about how they stored books in the 15th century and other fascinating things.

Digital artwork

It started as a doodle.

3 thoughts on “An Imposter

  1. I’ve read an article recently about a woman who quit her 9-5 job to start her own jewelry making business. She has gone through tough times and now she is one of the most successful entrepreneurs in this field. What do you think of it? đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

