Fractals are Cool

The prompt is chaos.

There’s a book by James Gleick called Chaos: Making of a New Science. I started reading it several years ago. I didn’t finish reading it because I wasn’t really smart enough to understand it. I’m not saying that I’m not smart. I’m just not the kind of smart you need to be to read this book. I do know that chaos theory has something to do with fractals. Fractals are cool.

A Julia set, a fractal related to the Mandelbrot set

A Julia set, a fractal related to the Mandelbrot set

I’ve also toyed with learning about physics. This was also not my thing. I listened to an audio book about physicist Richard Feynman.  I understood the book because it was more about the man than the physics.

It’s like when I tried to learn computer programming. I tried and tried but found that my brain just doesn’t work that way. I finally let go of that dream.

This is a reminder to put more effort into the things I’m actually good at so I can get better at them. That’s a crazy idea isn’t it?

 

2 thoughts on “Fractals are Cool

  1. Love fractals. Actually heard them referenced not long ago on the John Tesh radio show I like to listening to in the evenings sometimes. Said they were excellent to just look at to reduce stress and help to refocus thoughts. Found out there are a bunch of apps on Google Play for them too. Way beyond words to explain them or how amazing they are.
    Marianne

Leave a Reply

