Learning Everyday

I guess I’m learning what it’s like to live with, and how to manage an MS flare-up. My legs, as of late yesterday, feel pretty close to normal. I could walk without an assistive device, but in the afternoon, I was too tired to go very far without help. We went to the hospital to visit Dad. They are taking him tonight to Methodist Hospital for the electroconvulsive therapy. He’s scared. We tried to reassure him that things will be okay, but his thoughts are not at all rational. He thinks it may not work, or he won’t survive it. I feel fairly confident that it will work, but I can’t afford to dwell on it. I have to take care of me.

Back to me. I carried the cane in the hospital but didn’t use it much. Walking back to the car was tiring, so the cane came in handy then. We stopped by Kroger after that, and I did use the Rollator. I was pretty fatigued at this point. Could not have made it that long without the help. I think I’m still a little self-conscious using a cane and walker, but the benefit outweighs the discomfort.

What I think I learned today is that if I’m in a flare-up, and at the stage when it’s starting to get better, I need to be careful not to overdo it. I did some extra walking to try and build endurance and to see if I would get any significant muscle spasms. I think there were some slight spasms, but it’s kind of hard to tell.

I woke up last night and did some digital painting with Art Set.

 

2016-04-07 03.20.58

Made with Art Set for iPhone.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

