Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

I’m not sure what expressing yourself really means. Aren’t’ we expressing ourselves just by existing?

I did a simple Google search for the definition of the word express.

The first meaning is this: convey (a thought or feeling) in words or by gestures and conduct.

The second is this: squeeze out (liquid or air).

I get the feeling that the second definition actually came first. I think that when I’m expressing myself, I’m squeezing out my essence. I’m showing you my inner-self, the part of me that’s hidden by skin, bones, and ego.

I like to create, but I’m not sure why. I don’t think I set out to bare my soul to those who are interested. But now that I’m thinking about it, this is exactly what I’m doing.

I don’t think I can ever be successful at expressing myself. Anything I draw, write, paint, sing, or dance is still superficial. Maybe that’s why we keep creating. We hope that someday the world will see us for who and what we really are.

Something to ponder.

Sketchbook page

This isn’t the real me. Or is it?

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Express Yourself

  1. Perhaps among the things revealed in a work of art are aspects of the artist’s self. But also I think we create art to express something that seems important. I don’t mean that every story needs a moral or that every painting is an allegory. But an artist at work feels, “It is important to express This”, whatever This is. And the work of art, once out in the world, reveals something–about truth, beauty, reality, humanity? Sometimes it reveals much that the artist was unaware of, or didn’t intend–it speaks something different to different observers.
    There is more than a little mystery here…

Leave a Reply

