Doubling up

I missed yesterday’s Zero to Hero assignment, so I’m doubling up  today. I kind of feel like I could get in trouble for not turning in my homework. Does WordPress give out demerits?

DAY 17: INCREASE YOUR COMMENTING CONFIDENCE

“Today’s assignment: read six posts written in response to yesterday’s prompt, and leave comments on at least two of them.”

My heart wasn’t in this one so much. I commented on three posts, I think. I read a few more, but nothing I saw really inspired me  to comment.  The prompt, in my opinion, was kind of blah. Maybe I should challenge myself to go back to this prompt one day and do something great  with it . It might make a good jumping off point for a piece of fiction.

DAY 18: ACTIVATE A SOCIAL NETWORK

“Today’s assignment: Explore one or more social networks, and start an account so you can begin exploring the possibilities. If you’re already active on a social network, set up Publicize and link the account to your blog, and/or create a strategy for how you’ll use it.”

I’m all over social media. You can find out where on this page. I have a Tumblr for my digital scrapbooking pages, but I haven’t been active in that realm for some time. I’m on Instagram, Flickr, Google +, Vine. I joined Quora, but never really spent any time with it. I’m sure there are more that I’m just not  thinking of.  I think its too much. I should really cut down, but I would hate to not be in on the next big thing. I’ve yet to try Snapchat, but it’s probably just a matter of time.

I coordinate the social media presence for my department at work, so I’m often looking for articles on how to make the best use of these channels. I take most of the information with a grain of salt, because I don’t think any of the so-called experts really know what they’re talking about. I think we’re all just taking stabs in the dark and trying to keep up with the ever changing landscape of this Internet business.

So I’m a bit burned out with the Zero to Hero thing. I’m learning a lot and pushing myself to do things I don’t normally do with my blog, but I’m ready to be done with it.

I’ve got ice cream!

 

ice cream container

My ice cream!

 

6 thoughts on “Doubling up

  1. I’m starting to get over this zero to hero challenge too. I’m trying to keep up with it, but I didn’t really WANT to write about my reputation..I could honestly care less…I just want to write for MY reasons.

    Zero to Hero wants to go against me on that one though.

Leave a Reply

