Writing is difficult!

I signed up for The Fiction Project. Now I’m writing a story  to put in the little book they sent me after they received my $60.00. I think I signed up so I would be forced to write some fiction. I’m not really being forced to do it, but wasting $60.00 would be a silly thing to do.

Here’s the thing; writing fiction takes a lot of work. I have to wonder why I’m compelled to do it. It’s kind of not fun. It’s kind of grueling.

Today I watched about 6 episodes of the X-Files on Netflix. That was easy. That didn’t require any effort. I also fed the outside dog, Annie; I fed the other two dogs, picked up their poo with a plastic bag, and fed the cats.  None of  these tasks were difficult.

Finally, I sat down to add some more words to the story I began last week. I like the story, and I think the idea is good, but I’m finding it mentally exhausting to write. I keep adding all of these little details, and quirks to the characters’ personalities, and a back story about the main character’s schizophrenic aunt. Why do I put myself  through this?

I don’t expect to have my fiction published. I’m apparently doing this just for me, but I don’t know why.

I once started writing a novel, thinking that if I were a novelist, I would be important. I would deserve to be here on this planet. I don’t feel that need anymore, but for some reason, I still write. It just doesn’t make any sense!

Annie-I call her Annie Bannanie

4 thoughts on “Writing is difficult!

  1. Are you going to do the writing as part of NaNoWriMo? If you do, and keep tally of your words, let me know – I’ll move my whiteboard out to the front of my cube and you and I and Tarn can toss our word counts on it. 🙂

  2. Writing is difficult. It can be satisfying. Besides, if one doesn’t write, then one suffers from a perceptible deficit–or to put it another way, one feels better after having written, like after having exercised.

    Or: Never mind why, lady, just keep it up!

    -Peggy

Leave a Reply

