Greatness, do I want it?

Sometimes I think I’d like to be known for something
Be great at something

But then I think about all the work it would take
To be great

Then I pause
And wonder

If I even have what it takes

If I have the necessary moxie, gumption, chutzpah, nerve

Sometimes I think I do

Sometimes I dream great big dreams
Dreams that make mice out of elephants

Then I begin to try
And I begin to tire
And I say, save the work for another day

After all
Greatness could be overrated

Maybe I could just get by
And be satisfied
With what I have and
With what I am

I just can’t seem to decide

Mouse and Elephant

One thought on “Greatness, do I want it?

Leave a Reply

