Dear GRE

Dear Gre,

You’re making me nervous. You are stressing me out.
I admit that I haven’t been preparing in earnest. I don’t have a lot of time.
You’re probably thinking that I could make time. I could watch less TV, and not play Angry Birds quite as much.
Well, I can’t argue with you there.

I have started preparing-a little. I downloaded a vocabulary for the GRE audiobook.
The B’s just started. The book is kind of hard to listen to. The narrator says a word, spells it, gives the definition, and uses it in a sentence or two. I know a lot of these words already, so I’m not sure if this is a good use of my time.

What I’m really scared of is the quantitative reasoning part of you. Math makes me nervous. It makes me panicky. I’ve seen sample questions, and I find them strangely worded. On some of them, even if I sort-of understand the math, the question itself confuses me.
GRE, could you make the math part easier for me when I take you? Are you able to do that? I know you’re not.

I bet you think I should prepare as much as I can, take you in December, and then take you again in the summer if my scores aren’t good enough. I’ll get into grad school eventually. You’re thinking I should not get so stressed out because I’m only making it harder on myself.

That makes so much sense! Thanks for your advice GRE. You know, I probably could have figured that out for myself.

See you in December,

Laura

Falling down the math hole

One thought on “Dear GRE

  1. It is most aggravating that so many of us grew up with math anxiety. I like the way my daughter was taught in Montessori school–with beads and blocks and things. Making it clear that math is fundamentally about, well, spatial relationships, sort of. And as a dancer, you’re good at spatial relationships…

Leave a Reply

