Pop Culture in a Bucket

I’ve been listening to a podcast called the Pop Culture Happy Hour. It’s “NPR’s entertainment and pop culture round-table podcast” about movies, books, television, nostalgia, and “what’s making us happy this week.”

I wasn’t sure if I’d enjoy it, but the more I listen, the more I like. Listening to the show feels like a guilty pleasure. I mean, with all of the stuff going on in the world, how can I sit around and listen to people talk about the latest Star Trek movie, or the new episodes of Arrested Development? I think I do need to listen to that kind of talk because it interests me.  It makes happy, and it makes me feel more connected to the culture I live in, and to people who think like me.

We all need to be entertained don’t we?

This feels like a post that could be in-depth, may even quasi-scholarly. I want to go into detail about my relationship  to pop culture. I want to discuss what it’s like to be the child of older parents who listened to Sinatra and Nat King Cole rather than the Beatles. I want this post to be really well written. It ‘s not going to be like that.

For now, this will just be a simple journal entry that I can come back to one day. I  can read it and remind myself of who I was on July 26, 2013.  I can use it as fodder for a bigger and better writing project. In fact, I’m going to create a Fodder category so I can keep track of posts that had the makings of something grander.

Back to the podcast…

They talked about Saturday  Night Live, and it made me want to go back and watch a bunch of SNL sketches.  They mentioned Mr. Show too.  I haven’t watched a lot of that one, but I’d like  to.

Some people have bucket lists of places they want to go and things they want to see. I’m starting to create a list of tv shows and movies to watch, and comic books to read. What does that say about me, I wonder?

The problem with bucket lists is that you need some leisure time to get through them.  I don’t have much of that, but i’ll do what I can. That’s all I can do after all.

PS: The term ‘bucket list’ is over used as far as I’m concerned, but here I am using it anyway. Such hypocrisy!

Bucket o fun

Leave a Reply

