Goings on

Today I made an appointment with a chiropractor, Dr. Jordan. A friend, who has had back problems in the past, recommended her. Something is going on with my lower back that causes muscle spasms in my legs. Those spasms result in impaired walking function, as well as impaired dancing. I want to be normal again. I want my body to work the way it did before my hysterectomy. I think that surgery had something to do with my troubles. My path to wellness begins with Dr. Jordan on Thursday.

I got up this morning and did something resembling yoga. I’ve found that it’s difficult to do any type of exercise if I’m in the same room with Sadie. It’s easier if Ernie is home, but if Ernie’s home, the tv is on. We have a baby gate in the hallway that keeps the dogs out of the part of the house where the kitty litter boxes are. The dogs will eat cat poop. That ain’t cool.

So, this morning I decided I could do yoga in the hallway, behind the baby gate. It kind of worked. Sadie wasn’t able to grab my hands and chew on them while I was trying to do Janu Sirsasana, that was a plus. Unfortunately, the hallway is fairly narrow so I didn’t have a lot of room to maneuver. Plus, the cats tend to walk under me while I’m doing downward facing dog, and the smell of the litter boxes was wafting into my nose–breathing deeply was not so pleasant. Not a perfect solution, but not a terrible one either. I feel guilty leaving Sadie all alone (except for Cammie the chihuahua) in the living room. She chose to sit by the gate and watch me, sometimes barking at the cats. I still felt guilty because I was behind the gate. My body felt good today thanks to the yoga.

~~~~~~~

It’s hard to get in the work groove after a three-day-weekend. I accomplished some things today, but my workload is piling up. I need to sit down and make a to-do list. I also want to see if I can upgrade my iPhone for cheap. I have a 4 now, maybe I’ll just go to the 4S. I think it has a few bells and whistles that the four doesn’t.

I saw this leaf on the ground by my car this morning. PIctures had to be taken. I wish I could find the right words to describe this leaf upon which raindrops were resting. Were they resting or were they clinging? Or did the leaf simply catch them? Mental note: read more poetry.

20130528-182829.jpg

Leave a Reply

