Health and Heredity and Habits

I’m like my father in many ways, and not like him in many ways too. We both like taking photographs, listening to audiobooks, eating chocolate, watching British television, and learning. I look like him, although not as much as I did when I was little. As I got older I began to look more like a combination of my father and my mother. I did not inherit my dad’s affinity for math. If I had, I’m sure I’d be a successful computer programmer today. I’ve found that math problems can bring me to the verge of a panic attack.

Dad turned 77 in April and he has some health problems that I don’t want to inherit. I just turned 42, and I know it’s time to start taking better care of myself so that I won’t run into the kinds of problems he’s having when I’m in my 60s and 70s.

It’s all about healthy habits. I believe that if your healthy habits outnumber your less healthy ones, you can come out ahead. I try and keep up with the latest research on nutrition and fitness. I don’t read scholarly journals, but I do obtain information from credible sources like WebMD, The Nutrition Diva, and The American Council on Exercise (ACE). I’ve started filing away useful health and fitness information on Pinterest pin boards. I’ve got one called Fit ‘n Happy, that features some workout routines, and exercises you can do using elastic bands. I really want to start making better use of my elastic bands since I know strength training is key to aging well.

Fit 'n Happy Pinterest Board

Fit ‘n Happy Pinterest Board

My other health-related pin board, Eat Your Veggies, contains recipes for preparing vegetables. The dream is that one day I will prop my iPad on the kitchen counter and make some of these dishes.  I might have done this once, I need to do it more often.  I’ve also been using Evernote Food to collect healthy recipes. Sometimes I think it’s more about the technology than anything else.

Eat Your Veggies pin board

Eat Your Veggies pin board

I’ll talk more about this in another post. Maybe I’ll report that I’ve developed a new healthy habit.

Leave a Reply

