My Thing

I confess; I’m not good at commitment.

I shouldn’t say that.  I am committed to my husband. In the past, I questioned the concept of monogamy, but now I believe that it’s the way to go. Who has time for 3 boyfriends? I barely have time for myself.

This post is not about my marriage. It’s about my career (or lack of one). For the last several months, I toyed with the idea of becoming an Instructional Designer. I would get a masters degree, become a thought leader, get a job in the field-the whole nine yards. I started collecting information about eLearning, education, learning styles, etc.  But as I consumed all of this information I began to realize that while I’m interested in Instructional Design and its related topics, I don’t think I can make it “my thing.”   I don’t think it’s meant to be.

Don’t get me wrong, I really like making instructional videos. In fact, I’m currently working on converting the materials from a 3-hour instructor-led Photoshop workshop to a multi-part video course. I’m breaking the workshop into several small parts that people will be able to consume on their own, at their own pace. This is a proof-of-concept project, so I’m hoping the bosses will like it and want more of the same. I’m good at this stuff, but that’s not all I want to do.

I’m fairly certain that I like to write. It’s so hard, but I’m compelled to do it. I think I’d like to write fiction, but it seems like the hardest type of writing there is. I’m sporadically working on a short story. I’ll open up the file, add a couple hundred words, and then not get back to it for a month or two. I’ll think about, but I won’t write. Am I scared of failure?  Could it be that I’m lazy? It’s probably a little bit of both.

What I’m getting to here is this: Blogging about my various interests is the thing I’m supposed to do. I am a dabbler, and I’m going to write about my dabbles. I can inform, educate, entertain, and inspire my readers.

Maybe it’s a hobby. Maybe it’s something I can do for a living. I don’t know. What I do know is that it feels right. It feels like “my thing!”

Clouds in blue sky

Could it be that the sky is the limit?

Leave a Reply

