I’ve been thinking about…

I am all over the place. I have so many interests, so many things I want to do, so many things I’m not doing. I had an interesting notion today that I thought I’d write about. Her it is:

Notion(s) of the Day
We humans tend to define ourselves by things that are separate from us. I’ve had this feeling for many years that I had to have a career in order to be somebody – to count – in this society. I was going to be a dancer, but I didn’t really want to be a dancer. I liked dancing in college and grad school, but I didn’t feel like I was really a dancer when I compared myself to other people who I believed to be bonafide dancers.

After grad school I got a job that was just a job. That wasn’t enough, so I thought that if I could become a writer, a real writer, I would be able to find my place in the world. I’m still trying that out. We’ll see what happens.

What I do for a living now is make technology training videos. It’s my thing and I’m good at it. I also manage the social media presence for my group at work. I’m good at that too. I also do some graphic design, but I don’t dare call myself a graphic designer. I think I’m good at that too, but don’t tell that to any real graphic designers.

I’m interested in fitness and nutrition. I’ve considered going to school to be a fitness trainer or a nutritionist.

I like blogging, and if I had time I’d blog about all my interests, but I don’t have time. I need a zillion dollars. With a zillion dollars I could do whatever I want.

I want to be a blues singer, but I need to improve my guitar skills. I want to be an actress. I could be an actress. I want to be an artist, but I need to improve my drawing skills.

This is what goes on in my brain. All of these notions are why I haven’t accomplished any one big thing in my life. That must be the way it’s supposed to be, because that’s the way it is. That statement calls for another blog post which would require some extensive reading of philosophical tomes. I won’t be writing that blog post.

Maybe my life IS the one big thing in my life. That is some kind of deep!

I’m happy that I wrote something today. Yay for me!

Leave a Reply

