Queen of the Universe

Permission to Proceed Slowly

I have given myself permission to do my NaNoWriMo thing slowly. I wrote a couple of hundred words today about a character who will help me bring the story into the realm of the magical. It won’t fit into the Magical Realism category because it won’t fit all the criteria. I’m thinking the magic in my story (if you want to call it magic) will be attributed to some kind of higher being. From what I understand about Magical Realism, the magic has to be unexplainable. I know that the world has real magic. The world is magic, and that’s just the way it is. I think that because we are frightened of the power we possess, we deny the existence of this magic.

BADASS!

Yesterday evening I felt like a BADASS. I’m not really sure why either. I felt good, I felt young, I felt hip. I know, to use the word “hip” makes you the opposite probably. In any case, I felt like I was Queen of the Universe. I think part of my good feeling came from the fact that these days I can really think of myself as a writer. I’m no longer somebody that says she wants to write. I am somebody who writes. It also helps that the election is over and my guy won. Now I don’t have to move to Canada. No offense to Canada, but I just don’t see how I’d be able to sell my house and get a job in Canada. The winters are harsher there too, so that’s another reason not to move.

The Weekend

It is November. A while back I declared that I would make holiday cards this year. I have to get started tomorrow!!! Those exclamation marks mean I’m serious darn it!

I also want to do some meal planning and make some food ahead of time for next week’s lunches and dinners.

Last week I stopped at Goodwill and found a wonderful jewelry box. I have not put my jewelry in it yet, so that’s on the agenda.

I’ve got to order another pair of shoes from Zappos. I had to send a pair back because they were too small.

There’s more stuff to list, but I’m pushing it as it is.

And of course I will watch Doctor Who on Netflix.

That’s my little report.

Here are pictures of my wonderful jewelry box and my portable writing setup.

20121110-144633.jpg

20121110-144726.jpg

Leave a Reply

