Why would I want to write a novel?

So I thought I wanted to write a novel, but now I’m not so sure. It’s hard work! I stated in my last post that I would be participating in NaNoWriMo, but without an outline or a plot. I’m creating characters, and so far I’ve got six of them and a place called Jay’s Bar and Grille. I’m giving these characters elaborate backgrounds. Two of them even know each other. I like them, and so when I consider giving up on this novel writing thing I feel a bit guilty. I’d be leaving all of these people hanging. I’ve brought them to life; don’t I owe them a story? I think I do.

I’m not going to write 50,000 words by the end of the month. It’s just not going to happen. I don’t have the time. I’m going to try my best to write everyday and finish when I finish.

Why would anyone want to write a novel anyway? I sometimes feel that I’d much rather create visual art. I know that I’d rather be acting. The last time I was on stage acting in a comedy sketch I felt exhilarated. I dance, but I think I’d rather write than dance. So the order is; acting, singing, making visual art, writing, dancing.

Maybe I’m reluctant to want to write a novel because I don’t read enough novels. I don’t read as much as a true write is supposed to read. I do better now that I have a Kindle, but still, I just don’t read all that much.

Here’s the thought. If I do write this novel, I want it to be different. I want it to be groundbreaking, or at least unusual. I want to make a strange and beautiful world. I want to hone my descriptive writing skills. I think it would help if I read more work by writers who are good at description. My novel should have poetry, flowers, color, texture, flavor, aroma. I want a sensory explosion!

You know what? Blogging seems easier since I started NaNoWriMo. Who knew?

4 thoughts on “Why would I want to write a novel?

  1. Hi Laura. Reading your post just now was like reading about myself.

    I’ve spent the last 4.5 years working on my novel (6 months of plotting, 4 years of actual writing, albeit in between renovating a house and a full-time job for the most part). I won’t lie to you; I’ve thought about quitting too, but whenever I do, I’m reminded of Vanessa Bell in The Hours, talking about her sister: “Your aunt is a very lucky woman, Angelica. She has two lives. She has the life she is leading, and also the books she is writing.”

    As true a fact as ever there was one. I’d never want to leave behind the world I’ve created, the characters I’ve grown to love, or miss those rare real-life events that make you go “Hey, that’s just like in my book!” Sure, it’s hard work, but it’s worth every tap on your keyboard!

    As far as your lack of reading is concerned: I wouldn’t worry about that. I hardly ever read any books growing up; in fact, I still don’t. I won’t deny it makes me feel less confident at times, but never less of a writer. As long as you enjoy what you’re doing, what you’re writing, nothing else matters.

    In short, go for it! Take your time, see where your story takes you and vice versa. I’ve finished 13 out of 17 chapters so far, and I can honestly say I don’t regret writing a single one. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

