Better Than Before

Work this week is enjoyable because I’m doing something I’m good at. Imagine that! I won’t go into details, but I’m making an informational video using Adobe Captivate 6. I’m writing a script and putting graphics together (wishing I had a budget to buy stock graphics). Tomorrow I’ll record the narration and then put it all together. This is my thing! I need to do this all the time and get paid for it. I think I’m probably well suited for the instructional design field. Better get serious about it before I hit 50.

I’ve always been a late bloomer. I didn’t have my first boyfriend until college, I was well into my twenties the first time I got drunk, I didn’t get married until I was 39. I’m on a bit of a different schedule. I’ll probably make my Hollywood debut when I’m 80.

I’m always jealous of those young “whiz kids” like Mark Zukerberg, who make a name for themselves and millions of dollars before they turn 30. I will never be them. That’s got to be okay because that’s the way it is.

The thing about being a knowledge worker (I think that’s what I am), is it puts a lot of stress on your body to sit in front of a computer all day. I took two brief walks today but I need to do more. I’m trying to spend less time looking down at the iPad. It kills the neck!

Oh these 21st century problems. `

The bottom line is that the last couple of days have been good, and I’m grateful for any good that comes my way.

PS: I don’t like the number of times I used the word “I” or “I’m” in this post, so to add to the self indulgence here’s one of my many self-portraits. This was taken in one of the dance studios at the Univ. of Illinois Champaign-Urbana, where I went to grad school. I had a make-shift dark room in my bathroom and this one came out by mistake. I think it’s kind of cool though. I did so many creative things back then (sigh).

20121024-220715.jpg

Leave a Reply

