Lost lens

The day started out good.

I didn’t oversleep, I had made my lunch the night before, Sadie did her #2 business earlier that morning when my husband took her out. All I needed to do was take a shower, get dressed, and let the dogs pee. No problem, I thought. So I put some dog treats in the pocket of my black pants, leashed Sadie and stepped into the garage. My left contact falls out. I don’t know what to do. If I get on the floor to look for it will Sadie come over to ‘help” and end up eating it? `I don’t know, but I have to get down and look. I let go of the leash and ease onto my knees. I don’t see it, I don’t feel it so I go ahead and take Sadie to the door. She steps outside and doesn’t even have to pee. We go back in the house and I decide to see if the lens has fallen into my shirt, by bra, my shoes, my pant cuffs, etc. It’s nowhere to be found. I let Cammie out to pee, bring her back in, and then get on the floor and look some more. Nothing!  So I go to the bathroom and take out the other lens. It’s 8:30. I wanted to leave the house at 8:00.

Here’s the thing. I have to wear hard lenses to correct my keratoconus, so I only have one pair. I am due for an eye exam, but I’ve been putting it off. Now I guess there’s not more putting it off. I’ll have to go through the long process of getting fitted. It usually takes about three weeks of trial lenses before they find the ones that they think will work for me. I end up with some that feel fine for about a month before they start to get uncomfortable and then I just live with the discomfort until it’s time for the next exam. In the meantime I wear my glasses, which don’t completely correct my vision and contribute to back and neck problems from leaning forward to see the computer monitor.

Bad start to a week for which I had such high hopes.

Some of my goals for this week are:

  1. Blog everyday
  2. Climb  the stairs at work several times/day
  3. Make a to-do list for work projects
  4. Make better food choices at dinner

I’m off to a good start with blogging. Now it’s time to climb the stairs.

Here’s the art

Auto

Leave a Reply

